Logo EPACA EPACA YouTube Channel
inside 1
inside 1

Members of the Professional Practices Panel

  • Thumbnail David Coen

    David Coen

    Director of the School of Public Policy at University College in London

    See the biography

    David Coen is Professor of Public Policy, Head of the Department of Political Science, and Director of the School of Public Policy at University College London.

    Prior to joining UCL he held appointments at the London Business School and Max Planck Institute in Cologne. His PhD on business lobbying in the EU was awarded a distinction at the European University Institute in Florence. In 2008/09 he held Fulbright Distinguished Scholarship at the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University and in the past he has held visiting fellowships at the Centre for European Studies Harvard, Boston University, Nuffield College Oxford University, and Max Planck Institute, Bonn.

    He is currently a member of the board of European Centre for Public Affairs and a member of the editorial boards of Business Strategy Review, Journal of Business and Politics, Journal of European Public Policy, Cambridge University Book Series on Business and Policy. In the past he has been chair of the International Political Studies Association (IPSA) Research Committee on Business and Government, Chair of the London Public Policy Group, and chair of the Public Policy and Development Research Committee of the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE). He has held grants from Anglo-German Foundation, British Academy, European Union, UCL Research Challanges, and Fulbright Foundation.

  • Thumbnail Jean Claude Lahaut

    Jean Claude Lahaut

    See the biography

    Jean Claude Lahaut is Docteur in Law from the Université de Liège and  MBA (Master in Business Administration) from HEC (Hautes Etudes Commerciales), Paris.

    He is a member of EPACA Professional Practices Panel

    He is  visiting professor ( Maitre de Conférences) at HEC Liège, Management School of the University of Liège. He teaches in the Open Borders MBA of the Universities of Aachen, Hasselt and Liège.

    Jean Claude Lahaut was until 2013 the Secretary General of Cefic, the European Chemical Industry Council. He was earlier mainly with Solvay and Lafarge in Belgium, France and Germany.

  • Thumbnail Lisette Tiddens

    Lisette Tiddens

    former Secretary General of Comité Permanent des Médicins Européens (CPME)

    See the biography

    Lisette Tiddens-Engwirda has an academic background in Law and Administrative Sciences. She is a Member of EPACAs Professional Practices Panel and Member of the Stakesholders Dialogue Group (DG SANCO).                                                  

    Until March 2012 she was Vice-Chair of the Management Board of the European Medicines Agency (EMA), Chair of the EMA Management Board, Telematics Committee. 

    Previously, amongst a number of positions Mrs Tiddens-Engwirda recently held, she was Secretary General at CPME, Secretary General at PGEU, Managing Partner and Senior Consultant Public Affairs at Bennis BPR.


  • Thumbnail Tom Spencer

    Tom Spencer

    Visiting Professor of Public Affairs at the Universities of Brunel and Chester

    See the biography

    Tom Spencer divides his time between the academic and political worlds.  He writes and lectures widely on Europe, lobbying, public affairs, the environment and foreign policy. 

    He is Deputy Chairman of Pro Europa (Brussels Council of the British European Movement), a Member of The Council of the European Movement in the UK, of the Council of the Conservative Europe Group (CEG) and of the Positive European Network (PEN).   He is a member of The Council of Federal Trust 2003- and of the Advisory Board of CRonEM (The Centre for Research on the European Matrix) at the University of Surrey, 2012-.   He was Assistant to the Director of the “Britain in Europe” Referendum Campaign in 1975, Secretary to the Referendum Steering Group and Chairman of the Britain in Europe Youth Campaign.  He was Chairman of the European Union of Conservative and Christian Democrat Students from 1971 to 1974, Vice President of the Young European Federalists and the first winner of the Robert Schuman Silver Medal “for services to Europe”.  

    He is Vice Chairman of the Institute for Environmental Security 2002-, and Vice Chairman of its Global Military Advisory Council on Climate Change 2012-.  He was President of GLOBE International (Global Legislators Organisation for a Balanced Environment) 1995-99.  He was Chairman of Counterpart Europe 2000-02, an NGO active in sixty countries; a Commissioner of the Commission on Globalisation 2000-03 and Visiting Professor of Global Governance at the University of Surrey 2000-04. 

    He is Visiting Professor of Public Affairs at the Universities of Brunel and Chester.  He is a member of the Professional Practice Panel of the European Public Affairs Consultants’ Association (EPACA). He was Associate Dean of TempletonCollege, Oxford from 1984-89 and founding Executive Director of the European Centre for Public Affairs from 1987-89.  He served a second term as Executive Director from 1999-2011.  He is currently Convenor of the Global Public Affairs Network. 

    He was MEP for Derbyshire from 1979-84 and for Surrey from 1989-99.  He was Chairman of the Conservatives in the European Parliament 1994-97.  From 1997-99 he was President of the European Parliament's Committee on Foreign Affairs, Human Rights and Defence Policy. 

    His books, “Public Affairs and Power: Essays in a Time of Fear”, “Everything Flows: Essays on Public Affairs and Change” and “Challenge & Response: Essays on Public Affairs & Transparency”, “The Future of Public Trust: Public Affairs in a Time of Crisis” are available from Amazon.com